God Bless You, Master Shakespeare

As I am editing my query letter and synopsis (OH MY GOD, I’M IN THE FINAL STAGES!!!) before I send them out (OH MY GOD, I’M READY TO SUBMIT) I realized how many words I used that wouldn’t have existed without the Bard. Downstairs (crucial) elbow (where would we be without elbows?) green-eyed (how would we describe our jealous antagonists?) drugged (where would most college students be without this word?) countless, accused, generous, frugal … I could go on but the list is countless (thank you, everyone, I’ll be here all week).

So I just wanted to take a second and tip my hat to the master who thought so much of himself and his talent that he just plain made up word when his language fell short. I wish I always fly highly so highly of my writing, I probably would have submitted long before now.

The English-speaking world thanks you, William, you brilliant, ballsy man.

20121025-212721.jpg

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

2 responses to “God Bless You, Master Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

