Sharing the Spotlight

Not to brag, but one of my other talents is singing. I don’t know how this happens, but whenever I join a vocal group I’m not content just being a part of the chorus. Ask Ralph. I want solos. And I get them. My father even has a name for it: Singing Hog.

I share this information with you, not only to provide you with a chuckle, but to connect one of my talents to another. I, like many if not most of you, am a soloist writer as well. My characters are mine. My stories are mine. Don’t butt the hell into my world, jerks. I took a screenwriting class last semester (a post about that will follow this one in a few days) and the professor had us write together (which I know often happens when writing for tv). IT DROVE ME CRAZY, EVEN WHEN I WROTE WITH FRIENDS AND THE SCRIPT CAME OUT GOOD I STILL WANTED TO BE DOING IT ALL BY MYSELF I HATE GROUP PROJECTS LEAVE ME ALONE I DO IT BETTER THAN YOU!!!!!!!!

Excuse me.

I’ve only rarely seen works of fiction by two authors, unless it’s an anthology, and that doesn’t even count because all the stories within the anthology are written by one person. Most people, I feel from gathering information from my limited experience, tend to avoid it. Like any writing venture, it’s completely hit or miss when you write with someone else.

Hit: Sorcery and Cecelia.

Miss: Dormia.

It hasn’t ever really been my thing, either way.

So why then, you ask, am I voluntarily sharing my writer’s spotlight with my dear friend Holly?

Well, first because  I love her.

She and I met in London and became close when we were among the few of our group to walk the twenty minutes to go to church together. She lived down the hall and after many a midnight  three hour chat in the bathroom, we realized that we actually had quite a bit in common. The main factor being that SHE IS A WRITER! And she was the only friend willing to take a day and go to Jane Austen’s House with me and then I went with her to the Peak District where we visited Chatsworth House (the latest location used as Mr. Darcy‘s Pemberley, also featured in The Duchess) and Haddon Hall (the Boleyn Family home for the movie The Other Boleyn Girl). Also we she indulges me when I want to do silly things like this:

and this:

Fun.

So, whilst we were gallivanting through the UK on literary/historical quests, we had a brilliant talk for literal hours at this lovely little pub:

We were quite tired but it was the day before Halloween and we didn’t feel like going to bed, but we didn’t feel like drinking either. Yet, we did mange to stay until the joint closed … talking about our stories.

Now I’ve spoken of my privacy issues before. I don’t like telling people what my stories are about, often because they are about too much and inquisitive friends would have to read said stories to really understand. “What’s your story about?” Like what kind of question is that?  Well, do you have seven hours to spare? I can tell you about it if you have that much time. Jeeze people. Don’t ask about my unfinished secrets. I don’t even tell Ralph my story plans, just let him read the half-finished projects.

With Hol, none of my usual resignations assailed me. I wanted her to know my plot. She listened for the seven hours (more like forty five minutes, but give me leeway for over exaggeration, it’s part of my Italian blood). I even told her my most heavily guarded secret … the ending to Laura’s Letters!!!!

After she basically made my entire life seem worthwhile by telling me she loved the ending and the whole idea for my novel, she launched into details about her current novel-in-progress. She normally writes screenplays (and is the reason I became interested in that genre) but had a novel in the works and wanted my feedback. So I listened to her for seven hours and to both our delight, we realized that we had similar elements to our stories. Different plots, setting and characters of course, but key elements matched up, which means that we have similar thought processes.

Nothing could have made me happier except winning the lottery and actually getting published.

We both then reached the same conclusion that we are not only good traveling friends, but good writing friends as well. We officially exchanged emails so as to allow reading of each other’s work (speaking of, Rowenna, I’m half-way done with your novel and I can’t wait for Kit’s ebook to arrive!). And it’s official.

We’re going to co-author something.

Everything is still in the early planning stages and may stay there for some time with my work schedule, but I swear it’s going to happen. I’m pumped. She’s pumped. Our moms are pumped. I think it has the potential to be really good 🙂

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this issue. Yes or no to sharing the spotlight? Doest the notion give you the willies? Are you open to the idea? Have you ever even thought about it before?

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

10 responses to “Sharing the Spotlight

  • Kit MacConnell

    Good luck! I’m too much of a control freak for collaboration. Let me know how it works out. =] I’m interested to hear about collabing first hand.

  • Jillian ♣

    Didn’t Truman Capote and Harper Lee collaborate for a while? I think it could be really good! I’m not sure if I could do it, but I wish you luck! The friendship sounds AWESOME. 🙂

    (I can’t believe you had to talk someone INTO visiting the Jane Austen house. I would sooooo like to do that. I’d have been racing ahead of you to get there first!) 🙂

  • Rowenna

    I’m so often that way about group projects—leave me alone! But it’s different when it’s not forced–when you and another person just click and can create together! I’ve never collaborated on a writing project before, but I can’t wait to see how it turns out for you!

    Plus–I’m with Jill–coercion would not have been an issue with getting me to the Jane Austen house!! LOL!

    • Miss Rosemary

      I think that might just be the key factor: force. If you voluntarily engage in something it automatically just feels better. And when something feels better, you inevitably produce better.

  • jannatwrites

    I think sharing the spotlight is great, as long as both writers are compatible. I haven’t found someone to collaborate with, but I’m not opposed to the idea at all.

    Last year, my son loved a children’s book series that was written by two authors. It wasn’t my taste, but if they can get a third grade boy to devour books, they’re okay by me!

    Good luck!

  • New Venue «

    […] friend Holly (mentioned  two posts ago in Sharing the Spotlight) got me interested in screenwriting. It was always an idea I never entertained (except for when […]

  • Barb

    I have always wished to write a story with somebody else, maybe a crossing diary (I have my character, you have yours, we make them interact and see what happens), and I did one attempt in Italian.
    Then I started writing screenplays (more on that in your screenwriting post) and found a “writing partner”. Except I wrote the whole thing and he simply edited something here and there. I don’t call that a partnership. If I wanted a beta-reader for a screenplay, I wouldn’t have needed to enter in that and share the spotlight.
    So yeah, I’m still looking for somebody to write with (like in my first example), but if I don’t find anyone I’m prolific enough to keep writing on my own, know what I mean? 😉

Leave a Reply

