Trapped By Technology

I’m currently on a train back from Edinburgh to London and I have had … not really an epiphany or realization, but an interesting thought. Of the fifty-five people in our group, fifty of us, myself included, have iPods in our ears. Half are on laptops and some (me) are fooling around with BlackBerrys or iPhones. What brought on this thought was the discovery of an outlet that would allow me to plug in said BlackBerry and blog.

We are crippled without technology and the internet.

Why?

Why can’t we do anything without the internet? Why are we so dependent on technology? There’s no real reason for it. I brought a book. Can’t focus on it. I brought Ensnared. I have only two more parts to write before it’s finished. Can’t write. Words not coming. I have five friggin hours on this train and all I can do is listen to music and rant on a blog post. What is productive about that? Well, I’ll have another whiny blog entry, but I’m going to be honest, I’d rather have another part of Ensnare complete.

People in my generation are sucked in. They sit in front of whatever screen they prefer and let the pull of the movie, the song or internet leap through and glue them to the chair. We don’t know what to do with ourselves without a screen of some kind. Even with books. People aren’t stopping reading, they’re just reading on iPads and Kindles. I do it too. My Kindle and my laptop are my most prized possessions. My one small rebellion is the fact that I rite everything completely longhand on paper. Other than that, I’m a 21st century girl.

Try not to get too trapped. I’m going to try to write.

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

12 responses to “Trapped By Technology

  • Agatha82

    Ah my dear, I suppose it’s the curse of your generation. However, it’s even hard for me who’s much older than you to remember what it was like to not have the internet. I do detest mobiles though. Hate them. I purposely travel on the “quiet” train carriages to avoid listening to people on their phones chatting about nothing.

    Also, I do not think I will ever buy a Kindle. I don’t do iPhones and I NEVER will *hisses*

    But here I am, commenting on your blog, on my laptop at home so, not all technology makes me gag 😉

  • Ollin

    I would have to disagree on one point. The Kindle is not a screen. I feel quite at peace with it, and it almost doesn’t even feel like I’m holding a piece of technology it’s so smooth and simple, and light. But I agree with you about the ipods and laptops, and tvs. I don’t have an ipod. And I don’t watch too much tv anymore, but laptop, sure. On it way too much than I should.

  • jannatwrites

    So, you’re ensnared by technology? (I know, that was really bad but I couldn’t resist.)

    I have a hard time when I can’t get on the internet. I have developed a need to check blogs fairly regularly, catch up on emails, and maybe write a little (if I didn’t use up all my time doing the other stuff).

  • Rowenna

    So true–technology is a tool, but so often I think it uses us. I love so many things about it–being able to connect quickly with friends and discover amazing resources, among other things. I love my cell phone–makes it easy to meet up with friends at a moment’s notice. But I do sometimes find myself being too easily distracted…as though all the web surfing has caused me to have problems focusing for too long on one thing. And cell phones make people thing we must all be immediately reachable, when sometimes we just need to escape and be away for a while. Must retrain myself to be still, methinks.

  • slightlyignorant

    I get what you mean, and I agree. At the same time, though, I think that the Internet is fantastic. Just think about it – tons of people who wouldn’t read newspapers are absorbing facts online through places like Digg or Reddit and are learning stuff. People are reading opinion articles on their gaming websites and maybe from there moving onto other places. People can look stuff up in a moment where they may have been too lazy to pick up the encyclopedia. I’m not saying that I like the fact that we’re such a lazy culture, but there’s something to be said about information at our fingertips.

    Having said that – how can you read on a Kindle?! Gah! I love books, and I just can’t trade in the feeling of the pages and the smell of old books for an electronic reading device.

  • brownpaperbaggirl

    Ah, this is a topic I often think about. The generation of technology…what would we do without it? What would happen if it was suddenly to collapse? Would people know what to do with themselves?

  • Brown Eyed Mystic

    How did the 5-hour ride finally go?

    -BrownEyed 😉

  • Slamdunk

    Execellent observation–it can become a trap. I see it as well with people on the street as they walk along listening to something on headphones with little to no awareness of the world.

    Safe travels.

  • Hema P.

    More and more tools for procrastination — tell me about it! Hope you got some writing done at the end, though! 🙂

  • 83October

    There was a point in my life (I think it was late last year or early this year) when i realized I was spending way too much time glued to the computer screen. I wasn’t doing things I used to love. I decided to cut internet time while I’m at home. It opened up a lot of time for walking, reading,making conversation, and enjoying other things.
    I watch my niece and nephews and realize this is the generation that was born with the computer and they spend more time playing computer/online games than they do running and getting dirty outside.
    Technology, like everything else, has its pros and cons. I guess its a matter of balance.

  • Megs

    I always feel like I’m an ‘odd one out’ compared to most of my peers. I can spend days or weeks without going on my computer. I buy physical CDs and DVDs… from a shop. I buy and read paperback books. I’ve never shopped online. I don’t text. I hardly tweet. The easiest way to get in touch with me is to call me – or write me a letter!
    Sometimes I feel as though I’m living in the ‘wrong’ decade

  • Sangu

    It’s certainly true that years ago I could survive easily without a cellphone and laptop, but now they’re indispensable. But would I call it ‘crippled’? Maybe in a way. But I like fun tech stuff, I think it’s cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

