Some Things To Do

Well, I am far behind on this, but better late than never, I always say. At the end of last month, Hema P. awarded me with the Prolific Blogger Award! Wow, thank you, Hema! I can tell you I was just absolutely flattered. Coming from someone who I have learned to respect as both a writer and a person as Hema really meant a great deal. But I am long overdue in passing this award on.

Rules: Pass the award to seven bloggers who inspire you, make you laugh, make you think or a combination of all. Make sure you include a link to the person who gave you the award and that’s about it. Quite simple, fun and an easy way to brighten someone’s day.

So my Lucky 7

All these bloggers never fail to brighten my day and I always get excited when I see they have new posts. Thanks everyone 🙂

And now the other thing. I’ve been coming across a lot of people hosting blogfests recently, and I have decided to host one myself. The reasons behind this? It will inspire others to write and also give myself the kick in the pants I need to produce something new. I’ve been in a bit of a creative slump as of late, and I would very much like to get out of it.

So. My Blogfest will be quite easy (I hope) and titled Dad’s Day Blogfest. Here’s how it will work: if you are regular readers or have just picked me up recently you will have seen my recent post entitled Dear Old Dad. If not click here and check it out so you know what I’m talking about. In that post I listed a bunch of great quotes from my father that he has said to me over the years. What you have to do is pick at least one (more if you want to) of the quotes (reproduced below in this post) and include them in a story/poem/article/whatever you feel like writing.

I was going to try to be savvy and have the deadline be Father’s Day but that gives us about three days so we’re not doing that. Deadline is Friday, June 25, one week from today. When you post your story on your own blog, just make sure you link back to me and my little fest. Other than that knock yourself out! Anyone is welcome to join, just comment on this post to let me know you will be participating.

Dad’s Quotes:

  • “Dad, can we get a pool?” “Sure, a week from next Tuesday.” ~Note: we do not have a pool.
  • “Never won a handwriting contest did you?”
  • “Remember, if this contact comes through for you, tell your boss you only figured this out because of me.
  • “I know you know about my rules … it’s just you often ignore them.”
  • Mom: “Are you sure you should be driving in the Bronx?” Me: “Yes, Mom, and I’m kind of good at it now too.” Mom: “What does that mean?” Dad: “It means she beeps her horn and gives people the finger.”
  • “So I see you spent a million dollars at Borders.”

Gotta love him. Get writing!!

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

17 responses to “Some Things To Do

Leave a Reply

