Fantastic Book Alert

Right then, so rather than write my last final paper, here I am reading a book I plan to recommend to everyone I know, give as gifts, etc.

As I was perusing my sanctuary that is Borders, escaping from a harrowing day of classes and finals, I came across a title I could not allow to slip through my fingers (or G’s, she wants it for her birthday, damn now she knows what I’m giving her!).

Some Girls: My Life in a Harem by Jillian Lauren is going to be responsible for my failing grade. I simply could not put it down! This intriguing memoir sheds light on a life most everyday Americans, or citizens of fortunate Western-culture countries, would have absolutely no idea about.

The book follows Jillian’s life from when she began living on her own in NYC (and who wouldn’t want to do that? I know I plan on it after college, here it’s already a good book) as a struggling actress who soon finds herself on a plane to Brunei at the behest of the Sultan’s brother Prince Jefri.

I know, quite the change of lifestyle. Jillian soon becomes one of the Prince’s favorites in his harem and reaps the benefits of limitless spending privileges and royal treatment. But yapping at the advantage’s heels are some girls who would do anything to see her fall.

The well-crafted prose along with the addicting story will have you hooked by page one. I started reading it the second I returned from Borders and finished it two days later (it would have been sooner but the Glee Club had our annual Pops concert – which was amazing!!! – and it took over my life once again). The wild tale of a contemporary Scheherazade will keep your thumbs turning pages well into the wee hours. Kudos to Jillian!

Creative Writing Status and Goals (We’ll Do It All in One Go Today)

Rescue Me: It’s coming along. I’ve been writing this little sucker non-stop between classes outside whenever it’s not raining and have the sunburn to prove it. As of right now I’m where I want to be. Goal: don’t lose the momentum.

BMK: Half through edits and I am liking it much better. Now that I’m cleaning it up, I’m not sure if it would still count as a YA novel or if it would be an adult novel … a full post on this alone is due so I can gather your trusted opinions. Goal: Still 2,000 hits!! only 130 to go!!

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

13 responses to “Fantastic Book Alert

  • Ruth

    Hi – just wanted to say thanks for visiting my blog. The cover of Some Girls is absolutely gorgeous…sounds like a mind-blowing story. I can’t wrap my head around the fact that it’s a memoir!

    • Aspiring Novelist

      Hey, no problem, I really liked your blog 🙂 And thanks for stopping by in return! Mind blowing doesn’t even begin to cover it. I kept having to slow down while reading it and say, “wait WHAT just happened?!” Love when books do that!

  • junebugger

    ohh sounds like an interesting book. The title itself is intriguing. It’s a YA I see; I sort of skipped that genre all together, going from middle age books to adults novels.

    Good luck with your writing!!! At least you ARE writing. I’m so idle these days and my imagination seems to have gone dry.

    • Aspiring Novelist

      Clarification – my novel Becoming Mrs. Kennedy may or may not be a YA novel, Some Girls is not.

      I liked YA a lot more when I was in high school and have since written it off when I went to college, but I really honestly can’t decide what BMK should be… and relating to your recent post, funny how a guy can alter everything in your life, including writing. The momentum is lost, thank you ONE semi-not-really-date.

  • Lua

    Happy Birthday G, sounds like you’re getting an amazing gift this year!!! 🙂
    I feel your pain, I have ‘those books’ to blame for my poor grades when I was in collage for whenever I wanted to study something as fun and interesting as “tax law” somehow, out of nowhere, an amazing book would capture my attention and before you know it, it’s the morning of the exam and all I know about taxes is that we should pay them regularly 🙂
    You got me curious, and who’s suggestion to take if not yours so I’ll be getting a copy of the book.
    I’m super excited that we’ll be reading BMK’s first chapter very soon!!!

    • Aspiring Novelist

      That’s about all I know about taxes too, Lua … and NY taxes are the worst in the US which means I’m even poorer (word? or is it more poor? neither sounds right) than I want to be.

      It’s funny how books pop up at the most inopportune moments … damn them, but we love them so 🙂

  • Rowenna

    This sounds fabulous! I have a dear friend who lived for years in Kuwait as the wife of a man there–her stories are so intriguing! Will have to check this book out!

  • Hema P.

    Ooh, sounds like a very good book! I will definitely check it out. Thanks for the recommendation.

  • krisceratops

    This is unrelated to this post… but I noticed you are a significant SEVENTEEN HITS over 2000, lady! Where’s that chapter you promised us??? 😉

  • Jillian Lauren

    Thanks for this lovely review. Been enjoying your blog! Looking forward to the book….

Leave a Reply

