My Ritual

Everyone’s heard the song “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield. Only writers truly understand how it describes our lives.

Below I have posted the ritual in which I partake every time I am assaulted with a severe case of writer’s block: I play Natasha’s song and proceed to have these thoughts, never deterring from the pattern give or take a few words here or there. After I run through this little routine, I’m usually – if not quite fired up – ready to focus and pen a page or two.

Staring at the blank page before you

Oh welcome to my life. Following a hectic and torturous day of classes, papers, rehearsals and trying to eat and shower, whenever I rarely find the time to sit and write, I waste most of that precious time staring and empty lines on the paper of my notebook. And when I finally get going it’s time to head off to class or my eyes physically cannot stay open any longer and I must hit the hay or drop dead.

Open up the dirty window…

No can do. My roommate has severe allergies.

Let the sun illuminate the words that you cannot find…

First, it’s raining. Fail. And the only words I can find are angry ones at the incompetent study abroad office. However, if there is ample time, that energy can be transferred into positive writing energy and can come in very handy when Laura needs to stand up to her mother-in-law or Candace needs to yell at Derek.

Reaching for something in the distance, so close you can almost taste it…

It’s there. I know it is. The words I need, the publishing deal, the printed bound copies of my work; they’re all in the future, I just want them to be here now.

Release your inhibitions…

Good luck. I don’t even think I’m going to pass music class never mind actually get published. One day at a time, one day at a time.

Feel the rain on your skin…

No problem there. I’ll just go to class sans umbrella.

No one else can feel it for you, only you can let it in, no one else, no one else can speak the words on your lips

Writing is just like taking a test (well not really, but run with me on this one). If you rely on someone else’s test to cheat, you won’t get the result you want and your grade won’t be top notch. If someone else writes for you, it’s not your story it’s theirs. Whenever you read a great book and think, “Well hell, I couldn’t write that,” always remember you can’t. It wasn’t your story to tell, it was that particular author’s. What you write is yours, and you can’t cheat your way to your goals. So get over yourself, Aspiring Novelist! Leave this pity party and write something for the love of God.

Treat yourself to words unspoken, live your life with arms wide open, today is where your book begins…

Okay! I can deal with this. Today is where my book begins. Today is the day I buckle down, and get it done! I’ll have an agent by this time next year for sure!!

The rest is still unwritten.

Well, no shit Sherlock. That’s the problem isn’t it? Better prove this blonde biddie wrong and write something.

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

4 responses to “My Ritual

  • Lua

    Haha this was brilliant and hilarious! 🙂 amazing adaptation of the song (which I love by the way)
    When it comes to writer’s block (which it comes- too often that I would have like it to) I have five stages that and I call them (drum roll please) “five stages of WB”
    1- Panic
    2- Desperation
    3- Acceptance
    4- Trying to motivate myself
    5- Finally getting the pen down on paper

    “The rest is still unwritten.
    Well, no shit Sherlock. That’s the problem isn’t it? Better prove this blonde biddie wrong and write something.”

    With you on this one- Let’s prove her wrong, shall we? 🙂

  • synclarity

    I too have used music to divert a stuck brain-self. However I have found for me the perfect getaway. Keep in mind this is based upon the ‘just write’ tool in the toolbox. But along with the words you can sometimes help someone which has helped me. Yahoo Answers! Yep that’s it. Whenever I get buried by the lack of insight and talent I go there and try to answer some souls question about relationships or music. or god forbid psychology. Some are tender. Some are hysterical and some are just stupid. But I have also found there are some brilliant people there who just want to help. But you must balance your answers with truth and self awareness otherwise you can have a problem. Anyway it is my way back in and it works for the time being. Namaste! Lar

Leave a Reply

