The Inkwell

For those of you who may be wondering what my real name is, there is now a venue for you to access this information.

The Inkwell Literary Magazine, Fairfield University’s Creative Writing Club, has officially taken over my life even more so than the Glee Club in recent weeks and here is why.

Two years ago when I started college the club used to be named The Cream Filling. Don’t ask, it was stupid. While fun and a great atmosphere to meet friends and write, it was honestly extremely unproductive. Nothing ever got printed or even put online. So, sophomore year G and I took over and have hence pulled it to its feet. (Side note, this is the SECOND literary magazine for which I and best friends have done wonders.)

Through begging, threats and tears, we have collected writing from students around campus and have compiled them into a literary magazine! The remaining printed copies are taking up all available space on my desk awaiting  distribution around campus. It can also be read online here!! For those of you who have been paying attention to my writing you will notice some familiar pieces 🙂 and hence figure out which of the two of the editors-in-chief is Aspiring Novelist!

Anyway, that and final papers are the reason why I have not been writing any of my novels at the moment, however, I am not too depressed because technically it falls under the category of creative writing/a future job. G and I are seriously thinking of creating our own magazine when we graduate as a way of raking in a little extra cash on the side and showcasing the talents of writers across the state/country/globe (we’re trying not to get too ahead of ourselves though!)

That is where I stand. Please let me know what you think of the magazine! So far only our best friends have been responding to us and I would love to hear the opinions of people I trust to tell me the truth and know what they are talking about in the field of literature. Since this is the first project The Inkwell has tackled, there has not been any precedent or feedback from past publications to give us an idea as to how we should do things. Ideas, comments and suggestions will be heartily accepted on either blog! We will seriously take anything constructive into consideration to create bigger and better future publications.

Thank you, friends!

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

6 responses to “The Inkwell

  • Lua

    Well hello there, Rosemary O’Connor, it’s so nice to meet you 🙂
    I think you and your friend are doing an amazing job, creating a literary magazine sounds so much fun and it’s also a great experience…
    I just took a quick look and it looks really good but I will read it thoroughly as soon as I can and get back to you- hopefully with some useful feedback…

    • Aspiring Novelist

      it’s nice to meet you too, Lua Fowles! Thank you for your encouragement! Getting ignorant, insensitive college students to buy the thing has been extremely discouraging, so having someone actually appreciate all our hard work is uplifting!!

  • Hema P.

    How exciting!! Congratulations on taking this step (a mental one, which needs to precede any momentous practical steps) and onward you go, soldiers! I’m in a bit if a rush right now, but I will definitely visit your magazine later to give you my candid opinion! 🙂

    • Aspiring Novelist

      Thank you, Hema! No rush, of course. We do need pointers on how to get the website a little more efficient, so if you know how to work wordpress better than I do, that would also be greatly appreciated!!

  • Hema P.

    Aspiring Novelist, I looked through your magazine: I really like the name “Inkwell” for a literary magazine — very creative! Also cool is the idea of a blog type of magazine for univ. students. It’s a really good way for someone who wants to write, but not regularly enough to have their own blog, to put it out there!

    One question: Why the name “Stags on the Ruby Field” for the first volume? I’m not sure what I missed, but failed to connect with the stags in there… 🙂

    • Aspiring Novelist

      Thank you very much for taking the time, Hema! It’s off to a slow role but hopefully we’ll get the word out there …
      “Stags on the Rugby Field” is the last poem in the volume. It was written by my co-editor Gabriella (as a joke originally) but wound up being quite profound. The premise of it is that the deer (stags = Fairfield’s mascot) were on the rugby field at night at the same time as the speaker of the poem, and she realizes that, even though we are taught to consider ourselves the center of the universe in college and are so individually focused, the stags were there on our campus long before any university was built, and we should step back and reevaluate ourselves.

Leave a Reply

