Expanding Horizons

I’m trying my hand at journalism. It’s not a particular medium I have ever worked in before, but have been encouraged to consider as a possible career (to which I replied, “No, Mom, I want to be an editor and publish the NOVELS I write.”) but nevertheless, the notion has stayed as that tiny bug in my head urging me to do something different and step out of my comfort zone.

Lo and behold, at 6:30PM on Thursday, January 28, 2010 I found myself squishing into a chair with my dear friend in the office of the student newspaper, listening intently for a sign of a story I could possibly cover if the staff were to graciously allow me to take a crack at it with a letter to the editor in hand as proof that I could actually produce something of substance. And they did! I will be writing a review of When In Rome after the debut to (hopefully) in next week’s issue of the paper 🙂 Here’s hoping.

I’m still not entirely sure how I’ll go about this. I mean I know that basics of journalism: short, concise, witty, facts to snag and maintain attention for a minute or so while the reader skims your piece. I’m thinking it won’t be that difficult to begin and if it is, I’m a fast learner and could get the hang of things quickly. I would LOVE to see my work actually printed out on paper that hasn’t come from my printer or my stories only on the internet (posted on my sidebar under “My Work” for those of you who have not seen them). I also figure with this and the creative writing class, I should be able to balance all my school work along with writing. With deadlines (which I hate for works I’m passionate about – seriously, don’t rush me, it’ll get done when it gets done and it’ll be better that way) will keep me on track and ensure that I write at minimum two times a week. It will also be great to put on a resume and give me more experience in a wide variety of writing styles. I fully advocate pushing oneself to one’s limits.

So I’m giving it a shot. The letter to the editor I wrote has now been posted under my work, so even if it doesn’t make it in, it’s still published here. It’s a response to a review of the new Sherlock Holmes which I felt did not do the film justice and is pretty similar to one of my earlier posts, but hey, I think it came out pretty well.

Creative Writing Status and Goals

On track with everything, still shooting for more Rescue Me and another chapter of Damn Brits typed by Monday night. Cross your fingers.

About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

Leave a Reply

