I’m Sunk

First things first, as promised the first updates on my goals.

Creative Writing Status

Rescue Me: Success! The portion didn’t come out exactly the way I planned but who cares? I made it past where I wanted to be *pats self on the back*

And now the reason for my sinking.  When I was in the city a week ago today with my lovely friends as I mentioned in a previous post, we stopped in at the Barnes and Noble on 5th Ave. While I was paying for the bargained priced Complete Works of William Shakespeare, I innocently provided the nice English gentleman with my email address, believing it was merely store policy since some stores just want it for God knows what reason.

What a mistake.  How do I get myself into these situations?  Just minutes after I’d gotten home from the local Borders yesterday and vowed to spend no more money on books until either a) I find employment, b) someone gives me a gift card, c) I discover a significant discount for a book on my Kindle, d) I win the lottery, or e) Diana Gabaldon’s latest novel comes out in paperback so I can have the whole Outlander Series in the same editions/size, when I decide to check my email.  What do I see but a notification from BarnesandNoble.com informing me that all I have to do to receive 20% off my next purchase is activate my new b&n.com account.  It’s totally free and once I completed all the steps I’d be subject to even more savings including the occasional free shipping and handling.

The smart thing to do in this situation when one is a poor college student would be to exhibit self-control and click the “no, thanks” button on the email, moving on with one’s life.  What to I do?  Without hesitation I click “Sign me up!” and start browsing for more books I don’t need cluttering my room and bookshelves because I have a Kindle so the extra books really become superfluous.

How I wish it ended there.  I’m not that fortunate today.  Nope, I also received a 33% off coupon via Borders Rewards (yes, the very place I just was without said coupon) AND I got a Victoria’s Secret catalog in the mail telling us that they are having a huge blowout shoe sale.  What the hell?  It’s like life is determined to suck all my money out from under me.  I can resist anything else: clothes, bags, food, jewelery, perfumes, other online “let’s get this sucker for advertisement!” deals.  Those are no problem.  Books and shoes?  I’m sunk.

Creative Writing Goals

Rescue Me: by tomorrow, I want Thomas and Laura to have reached the crappy hotel and hit the swing dancing clubs.

Damn Brits: same thing, the first journal must be typed by the end of this week; though as a forewarning this may not be reached by the way things seem to be going 😦  Looking on the bright side though, I still could make it!


About Miss Rosemary

is a recent college graduate from NY hoping to complete her novel of ten years. Stop by her blog, Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas at http://missrosemary.net or contact her at MissRosemarysNovelIdeas@gmail.com with comments, questions and suggestions. She'd love to hear from you! View all posts by Miss Rosemary

8 responses to “I’m Sunk

  • krisceratops

    I guess I’m lucky to live in Canada, where these magical stores like Borders and Victoria’s Secret are a safe distance across the border, and charge too much to even justify shipping.

    • Aspiring Novelist

      Oh yes, count your blessings! Part of the reason why I can’t wait to go abroad is b/c I know I won’t spend obscene amounts of money on books and superfluous pairs of shoes … athough I’m sure I’ll find a way.

  • Maria Hrafn

    Good blog. I got a lot of great data. I’ve been watching this technology for awhile. It’s fascinating how it keeps changing, yet some of the core components remain the same. Have you seen much change since Google made their most recent acquisition in the field?

    • Aspiring Novelist

      Personally I think Google is just jumping on the bandwagon, but who can blame them? There is so much money in this industry (just from what they get from me alone!!) and it’s a smart move. Do I like their method of just giving the ebooks to the consumer? Not really, I’m not a fan of reading off my computer screen for an extended period of time which is why I enjoy the Kindle since it doesn’t hurt my eyes. Will Google make a ton of moolah off of this? Almost certainly.

  • Rolando Helvie

    I am really struck by the method that you write, and the subject is excellent. But can you post a link where I can find out how to get SSH working on the Kindle 2? Ive googled like crazy, and couldnt get anything like a tutorial. Thanks and cheers!

  • Meridith Legault

    I’m trying to get your RSS feed but i’m getting an error. Please let me know when it’s ready, I love the site. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

